Constituent Bodies

The post-primary system in Ireland consists of the following schools:

  • Catholic Voluntary Schools;
  • Religious Minority Schools;
  • Christian Brothers Schools;
  • Community and Comprehensive Schools; and,
  • Education and Training Board (ETB) Schools.

Each of these sectors has established a governing body, which nominates three representatives to the Board of the NPCPP.


COMPASS represents parents and guardians who choose to educate their young people in schools or colleges which promote a Protestant or minority ethos. There are 27 affiliated COMPASS schools in the Ireland. Most schools have elected parent and guardian representatives onto the Boards of Management in their respective schools. As partners in the representation of parent and guardian, COMPASS has three Directors who sit on the Board of the NPCPP.

The current COMPASS representatives are Paul Rolston, Nigel Bannister and Nita Mishra.

For more information on COMPASS click here.

The Education and Training Boards Schools National Parents’ Association (ETBsNPA)

The Education and Training Boards Schools National Parents’ Association (ETBsNPA) was established in 1985. It is a voluntary organisation representing the interests of parents and guardians of post-primary schools in the vocational sector. The local School Association is the foundation stone of ETBsNPA.

Through these School Associations the ETBsNPA promote respect and co-operation with all other partners of education. This includes students, Boards of Management, teachers and principals. They also promote and support the greater involvement of parents and guardians in all aspects of education through the Association and the wider channels of the National Parents Council Post Primary.

The currents ETBsNPA representatives are Noel Keenan, Micheál Martin and Francisse Walshe.

For further information on the ETBsNPA click here.

The Catholic Secondary Schools Parents Associations (CSSPA)

The Catholic Secondary Schools Parents Associations (CSSPA, formerly FCSSPA) is the representative body for parents and guardians with young people in Catholic Voluntary Secondary schools in Ireland. The CSSPA promotes the interests of parents and guardians and their young people in the Catholic Voluntary Secondary School sector at local, regional and national level. It comprises of local school parents’ councils, regional councils and a National Executive.

The current CSSPA representatives are Sean O’Riordan, Mai Fanning  and Kevin Finn.

For more information on CSSPA click here.


PACCs represents parents and guardians of students in 95 Community and Comprehensive Schools. The structure of the PACCS association comprises of local, regional and national representatives. At local level each school’s PA nominate two of their members to represent them at regional level. The regional level consists of seven regions: Dublin, Southeast, Southern, Midlands North, Midlands South, Western, Northwest and Northeast.

From these nominees a committee is appointed to carry out the duties as outlined by the parents and guardians from the regional level. At national level PACCS is represented by three Directors who form an integral part of the Board of Directors of the NPCPP.

The current PACCS representatives are Martina O’Shea, Rebecca Hemeryck and Richard Matthews.

For more information about PACCS click here.


Unit 6 -Building 125, OMNI Shopping Centre, Santry, Dublin 9
Phone: +353 (1) 862 3346
Email: [email protected]